Drake On Allhiphop.com

AllHipHop.com: How much do Young Money artists bounce off each other? I noticed you have similar inflections and cadences or rhyme patterns. I noticed this one thing that Nicki said, “It’s going down. Basement.”

Drake: Well, that flow has been killed by so many rappers. And, I never want to use that flow again in life. [Laughs] I wanted to take if off my album, because I was like, “I shut ‘em down. Onyx.” I hate the fact that that rhyme is still in there. To be honest, that flow, you can trace it back to like…I trace it back to Big Sean (artist on Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music). That’s the first guy I heard utilize that flow throughout the duration of a verse. I’ll give him that credit. I think Kanye got it from him. Me and Wayne found a dope way to do it. I don’t want to sound cocky, but the best way its been used was on “Forever.” Those lines just all individually make so much sense. They’re all punchlines. Then a bunch of rappers started doing it and using the most terrible references in the world. I don’t want to offend somebody…I hate that rappers picked that flow up. I wish they had left that for people that know how to use it. [They go like] “It’s a parade! MACY’S!”

Full article here

Shot out to the homie Drake!

17 Responses to Drake On Allhiphop.com

  1. Quis says:

    The other day, I was putting my roommate on to your music and I pointed this out to him. He wasn’t trying to believe it then, I can’t wait to see the look on his face now. It’s admirable that Drizzy was a man about it & owned up to it and gave you credit.

    Finally Famous!

  2. EyeHateLove says:

    Wow..That’s kinda crazy that I didn’t even peep you were one of the pioneers of that flow..INCREDIBLE!

    Ya weight is gettin up there Homie……Keep grindin!!

  3. DuseBreed says:

    Damn thats funny me my nigga Haf was just talking about it the other day about all these rappers that have the same flow… I just tho Ye was the creater but it was the Homie Sean! thats good shit ! Detroit stand up!

  4. So-Low Da Don says:

    Ha! Now I have proof that Drake copied that!

  5. […] Drake On Allhiphop.com AllHipHop.com: How much do Young Money artists bounce off each other? I noticed you have similar inflections and cadences or rhyme patterns. I noticed this one thing that Nicki said, “It’s going down. Basement.” […]

  6. Naythen says:

    hey big sean, im bouta eat a hot dog

  7. SCUBA STEVE says:

    I read this earlier, keep it up big guy

    =Scuba Steve

  8. hershey43224 says:

    Yeah, I was saying this a long time ago, after I heard Supa Dupa and everybody just copied the shit out of your flow. I really respect Drizzy for giving you props. Sean, you gotta hit us with the album though!!! lol Stop playin wit me man!!

  9. jameshundred says:

    YUP!!! i knew it!!! the first time i really heard that flow was on Supa Dupa and i thought it was the most creative type of flowing ever, then i heard drake using it and it kinda bothered me cuz i knew Sean did it first, but its really kool to see Drake saying something like this, Big ups to Drake and congrats on that BET Award and I know will see Big Sean with that award in his hands really soon,
    Finally Famous hopin really soon too, ima buy it at midnite lol Ima do my part and go buy it out the stores……………..Wal-Mart lol

  10. DiscoStu says:

    Did he just disrespect Luda?

  11. Price V says:

    First off I fucked with your music since the day Finally Famous dropped.Many sticks got knocked back to “smoke&Drive”

    but anyway I always thought Drake was biting off your steez, I actually refused to listen to him at first. I pointed out how everyone was starting to use the pause then punchline flow to all my homies and said they all were stealin that from you, but everyone said it was Drizzy that started it. Im glad he owned up to biting off of you, and brought up Luda’s shitty attemp to use it in my chick bad haha.

    For real tho drop the Album!! Give the game a breath of fresh air, you got the all the swag but lyrics to match…

  12. dizzane says:

    thank you drake. i tell all my homies BIG SEAN IS BETTER THAN DRAKE
    thanks drake for admitting it.
    glad you posted this b.i.g.

  13. datkidmike23 says:

    this just proves how influential BIG SEAN is.

  14. CZAR SANCH says:

    That’s good he finally gave credit to you being that you started that whole style. But for him to say the best way it was used was on Forever…….WTF……cummon man, that’s why I can’t stand Drake, “Supa Dupa Lemonade” is the best way that style of rhyming has ever been used. Finally Famous in this…..BITCH

  15. Wayne used that type of flow wayback! On JR Writer song with Camron and Weezy “Birdcall”, Wayne does the line “but y’all can’t see me….Ray Charles”

    Wayne is the origanator.

    BLEE DAT!

  16. Rahim says:

    Damn I just listened to the song “Birdcall,” the kid above has a point.

Leave a Reply

